The Courbet "savoir-faire"

Courbet may have taken the disruptive decision to work only with lab-grown diamonds, the techniques we use when making our jewellery are rooted in centuries of tradition. The craftsmen and women in our studios bring precious materials to life, revealing the diamond in all its splendour.

It all begins with an idea...

...an inspiration, that our artistic director, Marie-Ann Wachtmeister, captures in a sketch. Assisted by her creative team, she transforms these ideas into collections with necklaces, rings and earrings.

For a bespoke piece, the design is presented, actual-size, as a gouache that shows the piece from every angle. An artwork in its own right, this rendering enables the head jeweller to understand how the piece will fit together, prepare an assortment of stones, and plan the different stages of production.

Création sur-mesure bijoux - Courbet - Courbet
Création sur-mesure designer bijoux - Courbet - Courbet

The gouache rendering is the basis for the prototype, in wax. Because wax is pliable, the model can be adjusted as many times as necessary to determine its ideal proportions and ensure the piece will be comfortable when worn.

The model is then passed to the caster who attaches it to a sprue (a wax stem) which is fixed to a cast tree, along with other wax models. The tree is set in a flask that is filled with plaster and placed in a kiln. The heat melts the wax which leaves an imprint in the plaster.

For the next stage, molten gold is poured into the void left by the wax. Once the precious metal is cold, the caster breaks the mould, removes the castings from the tree, and discovers what will become the jewellery piece.

The jeweller then takes over to remove even the slightest imperfection and reveal the true beauty of the gold.

Tournage Courbet - Atelier Courbet

This essential step requires experience, care and no small amount of patience.

The mount, for example a ring shank, is now ready to be set with gems. The jeweller checks again the selected stones. The 4Cs of Cut, Colour, Clarity and Carat, as well as an experienced eye, tell the jeweller when each tiny diamond in a pavé, for example, is a perfect match for the stones on either side.

Tournage Courbet - Bague Atelier Courbet

The piece is then passed to the gem-setter, who secures the stones in the mount. There are many different setting techniques, such as grain, bezel, prong and channel.

Last of all, the polisher removes any trace of the previous stages for a perfect finish.

Sertissage bague - Courbet - Courbet
Polissage - Bague O2 - Courbet - Courbet

Your jewellery is ready to be enjoyed

Returns and exchanges

Free returns and exchanges for a period of 30 days

Do you need help ?

Call us at +33 6 42 95 79 11 or by mail at bonjour@courbet.com

Secure payment

All your purchases are secured by Banque Populaire

Free delivery

Free delivery in European Union

Le savoir-faire de la Maison Courbet

Si la maison Courbet parait disruptive lorsqu’elle choisit de n’utiliser que des diamants de culture, elle perpétue, dans la fabrication de ses bijoux, des savoir-faire très anciens. Entre les mains des artisans de nos ateliers la matière prend forme et le diamant se révèle.

Tout commence par une idée...

...une inspiration, que notre directrice artistique, Marie-Ann Wachtmeister retranscrit en croquis. Aidée de son équipe créative elle développe des modèles qu’elle décline en collier, bague, boucles d’oreilles…

Pour les commandes spéciales de pièces exceptionnelles, nous faisons peindre à la gouache le bijou à taille réelle sous toutes ses facettes. Ce document de travail digne d’un tableau, va permettre au chef d’atelier de comprendre comment le bijou s’articule, de préparer ses lots de pierres et d’organiser les étapes de la fabrication.

Création sur-mesure bijoux - Courbet - Courbet
Création sur-mesure designer bijoux - Courbet - Courbet

La gouache permet de réaliser le prototype du bijou, en cire. Malléable, la cire permet de se rendre compte du volume du bijou, de son confort, il est encore temps d’ajuster le modèle.

Ensuite, la cire est placée sur des tiges qui forment « l’arbre de fonte ». C’est là que le fondeur intervient. Il crée un moule en plâtre, recouvre l’arbre et le met dans un four. Avec la chaleur, la cire va fondre laissant son empreinte dans le plâtre.

La deuxième étape consiste à couler l’or dans le moule. Le précieux métal va remplir les vides laissés par la cire. Une fois le métal refroidi, le fondeur casse le moule et découvre ce qui deviendra un bijou. Les futurs bijoux sont encore accrochés les uns aux autres par l’arbre en or.

La reprise de fonte est une étape fondamentale qui révèle la beauté de l’or.

Tournage Courbet - Atelier Courbet

Le joaillier corrige toutes les imperfections. Cette étape est capitale, elle requiert expérience, soin et minutie.


Une fois le corps de bague prêt à recevoir les pierres, le joaillier vérifie l’appairage, c’est-à-dire que tous les diamants sont harmonieusement choisis. Les 4C cut, color, clarity et carat lui permettent de s’assurer que chaque petite pierre d’un pavage par exemple s’intègrera aux pierres de part et d’autre d’elle.

Tournage Courbet - Bague Atelier Courbet

Le joaillier passe ensuite la main au sertisseur qui fixe les pierres sur la monture. Il existe un grande variété de sertis : grain, clos, griffes, rail…

Pour finir le bijou, il passe entre les mains du polisseur qui gomme toutes les traces que le travail des artisans qui l’ont précédé auraient pu laisser sur le métal.

Sertissage bague - Courbet - Courbet
Polissage - Bague O2 - Courbet - Courbet

La magie a opéré...

Retours et échanges

Les retours et échanges sont offerts 30j après réception

Vous avez besoin d'aide ?

Par téléphone au +33 6 42 95 79 11 ou par mail à bonjour@courbet.com

Paiement sécurisé

Vos paiements sont sécurisés par la Banque Populaire

Livraison offerte

Courbet vous offre la livraison partout en Europe