COURBET: a story from past and present

The famous painter Gustave Courbet

Visionary and provocative, the painter Gustave Courbet went against all conventions and standards of his time. A protector of the arts who bound his destiny to the one of Place Vendôme in the name of peace, he gave his origin to the audacious name of the first committed jeweller on the octagonal square: COURBET.

On May 16th 1871, the Vendôme column fell, dismantled by the revolutionaries of the Paris Commune. They saw it as a symbol of the Emperor's glory. Gustave Courbet was the instigator of this highly symbolic gesture.

COURBET, sustainable jeweller

The jeweller COURBET set a milestone on May 16th. It is on this same day, in 2018, that the doors of its first Parisian address at 7 Place Vendôme opened. A choice of imagery that exalts the spirit of the disruptive painter and lover of Nature from whom it takes its name.

This proud heritage sets the tone: thanks to innovative sourcing and a committed artistic vision, COURBET intends to shake up the rules of Place Vendôme to offer jewellery that is more responsible and resolutely focused on the future.

The founders of the Maison

A duo, Marie-Ann Wachtmeister and Manuel Mallen, are spearheading this innovative and pioneering project on a famous landmark that has been recognised for centuries as the heart of jewellery savoir-faire. Together, the two entrepreneurs have written the essence of COURBET, which lies in the use of two traditional, yet multi-faceted, jewellery materials.

COURBET diamonds do not come from the bowels of the Earth, but from a laboratory. As the result of human genius and cutting-edge technology, it reinvents our relationship with Nature. Endowed with exceptional chemical, physical and optical characteristics, this lab-grown diamond is a diamond, and enhances each of COURBET's jewellery creations.

The gold used by COURBET has its own story. Based on the simple fact that the majority of the world's gold resources have already been mined, Marie-Ann Wachtmeister and Manuel Mallen wanted to give a new lease of life to the gold found in the obsolete computer materials of urban mines by transforming it to create COURBET jewellery.

COURBET collections 

COURBET's creative vision can be summarised in two letters: C and O. Together, they form the pattern CO, meaning ‘together’ in Latin. The aesthetic thread running through the Maison's many collections, CO more broadly evokes movement, with its interlocking curves, and timelessness, with the purity of its concentric lines.

Proudly displayed on the chains of the CÉLESTE collection, CO is sometimes more discreet and slips onto the C de COURBET rings, acting as a setting. Would you have recognised it in the shape of a padlock on the graphic creations of the PONT DES ARTS collection?

Timeless but always with a bold twist, COURBET jewellery collections are a precious reflection of the commitment of the person who wears them.

The collections





COURBET wedding rings

And because there are some moments in life that should remain engraved forever, COURBET acts as the guardian of true love. COURBET engagement rings embody this tradition, and show that a lab-grown diamond is also eternal. As for wedding bands, both set and plain, for him and for her, they seal this double commitment, both to love and nature.

A unique sense of style, materials that are as innovative as they are precious, and a renowned Parisian address - COURBET has all it takes to write the lines of a new history of French jewellery.

The bridal





Would you like to schedule an appointment ?

Discover COURBET creations in our Appartment located at 7 Place Vendôme, or by video appointment for a confidential moment from afar.

Make an appointment

  • Returns and exchanges

    Free returns and exchanges for a period of 30 days

  • Any question ?

    Call us at +33 1 83 75 74 20 or by mail at bonjour@courbet.com

  • Secure payment

    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, 3 or 4 instalments without charges with ALMA, Paypal, Cryptocurrency

  • Free delivery

    Free delivery

COURBET : une histoire d’hier et d’aujourd’hui

Le célèbre peintre Gustave Courbet

Provocateur dans l’âme et visionnaire, le peintre Gustave Courbet allait à l’encontre des conventions et des canons de son temps. Protecteur des arts et liant son destin à celui de la Place Vendôme au nom de la paix, il donne son origine au nom audacieux du premier joaillier engagé de la place octogonale : COURBET.

Le 16 mai 1871, la colonne Vendôme tombe, déboulonnée par les révolutionnaires de la Commune de Paris. Ces derniers voient en elle un symbole à la gloire de l’Empereur. Gustave Courbet est l’instigateur de ce geste hautement symbolique.

COURBET, le joaillier engagé 

Le joaillier COURBET marque d’une pierre blanche la date du 16 mai. C’est en ce même jour, en 2018, qu’ouvrent les portes de sa première adresse parisienne située 7 Place Vendôme. Un choix imagé qui exalte l’esprit du peintre disrupteur et amoureux de la Nature à qui il emprunte son nom.

Cet héritage, fièrement revendiqué, donne le ton : grâce à un sourcing innovant et une vision artistique engagée, COURBET entend bousculer les codes de la Place Vendôme pour proposer une joaillerie plus responsable et résolument tournée vers l’avenir.

Les fondateurs de la Maison

Un duo, Marie-Ann Wachtmeister et Manuel Mallen, porte ce projet inédit et pionnier sur cette place reconnue depuis plusieurs siècles comme le cœur du savoir-faire joaillier. Ensemble, les deux entrepreneurs écrivent la raison d’être de COURBET, qui réside dans l’utilisation de deux matériaux traditionnels en joaillerie, mais aux multiples facettes pourtant.

Le diamant COURBET ne provient pas des entrailles de la Terre, mais d’un laboratoire. Fruit du génie humain et de technologies de pointe, il réinvente le rapport que nous entretenons avec la Nature. Doté de caractéristiques chimiques, physiques et optiques exceptionnelles, ce diamant de synthèse L’appellation “diamant de synthèse” peut induire en erreur car, dans notre imaginaire, le synthétique est facilement associé à l’artificiel. Pourtant, dans le cas du diamant de laboratoire, des conditions de formation différentes permettent un résultat égal, tant par ses propriétés optiques que physiques; l’impact écologique en moins. La terminologie imposée ne reflète pas la juste valeur des diamants cultivés grâce au génie humain: cet astérisque vert symbolise le combat pour l’acceptation d’un nom plus juste. créé en laboratoire est un diamant, et sublime chacune des créations joaillières COURBET.

L’or utilisé par la Maison a son histoire bien à lui. Partant d’un constat simple, qui est que la majorité des ressources en or dans le monde ont déjà été extraites, Marie-Ann Wachtmeister et Manuel Mallen ont souhaité redonner ses lettres de noblesse à l’or présent dans les matériaux informatiques obsolètes des mines urbaines, et lui donner une seconde vie en le façonnant pour la création des bijoux COURBET.

Les collections COURBET

Le processus créatif de COURBET se résume en deux lettres : C et O. Ensemble, elles forment le motif CO, qui en latin signifie “ensemble”. Fil rouge esthétique des différentes collections de la Maison, CO évoque plus largement le mouvement, avec ses courbes imbriquées, et l’intemporalité par la pureté de ses lignes concentriques.

Fièrement apposé aux chaînes de la collection CÉLESTE, le CO se fait parfois plus discret et se glisse sur les bagues C de COURBET, faisant office de serti. L’auriez-vous reconnu sous les traits d’un cadenas sur les créations graphiques de la collection PONT DES ARTS ?

Intemporelles mais toujours dotées d’un twist audacieux, les collections de joaillerie COURBET sont le précieux reflet de l’engagement de celui ou celle qui les arbore.

Les collections





Le mariage COURBET

Et parce que certains moments de vie doivent rester gravés à jamais, COURBET se fait le garant de l’amour véritable. Les bagues de fiançailles COURBET s’inscrivent dans cette tradition, et montrent bien qu’un diamant créé en laboratoire est lui aussi éternel. Les alliances quant à elles, serties et non serties, pour elle comme pour lui, scellent ce double engagement, envers l’être aimé et envers la nature.

Un sens unique du style, des matériaux aussi innovants que précieux et une adresse parisienne de renom, il n’en fallait pas plus à COURBET pour écrire les lignes d’une nouvelle histoire de la joaillerie à la française.

Le mariage





Vous souhaitez nous
rencontrer ?

Découvrez les créations COURBET dans notre Appartement situé au 7 Place Vendôme, ou par rendez-vous vidéo pour un moment confidentiel à distance.

Prendre rendez-vous

  • Retours et échanges

    Les retours et échanges sont offerts 30j après réception

  • Vous avez besoin d'aide ?

    Par téléphone au +33 1 83 75 74 20 ou par mail à bonjour@courbet.com

  • Paiement sécurisé

    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, 3 ou 4 fois sans frais avec ALMA, PayPal, Cryptomonnaies

  • Livraison offerte

    COURBET vous offre la livraison